Preparing For Spring With Your Dog!

spring.001
It’s spring cleaning time!  We get to browse magazines and pick some ideas about the latest trends.  One thing  I do is to include the doggie stuff in the spring cleaning agenda.  After all these winter months my slobbery friend will fancy spring too! Take a look at my check list:

spring2013-460x539

  • Get rid of old toys and wash and clean the good ones. For this I use a pet-safe detergent.  I also get a new toy box using trendy colours for spring. Check out Lori Pedersen Home Staging+Styling to find out spring 2013 tendencies!
  • I change the placemat from the feeding station and I make sure the bowls for food and water are in good conditions. Also I get an outdoor water bowl for  those warm days.
  • Mylo and Chico love their naps, and  we have different beds in various areas of the house.  But after winter some of those beds are just too old.  Personally I like the bedding from Our Dog & Co in Aurora.  It is washable and the material  doesn’t look old after washing it and to be honest my dogs love them!  Also, this may be the time to go out and look for deals if you are looking at getting dog’s winter  gear for next year. Our Dog & Co carries a great selection of coats. 542187_397388233676827_1559241141_n
  • IMPORTANT Remove and wash bed covers  often in hot water, repeating frequently throughout the flea season. On sunny days air out bedding cushions. Personally I just like to get new beds every so often.
  • Make sure to have the flea preventative products ready . My dogs go on flea treatment around June, but if the weather gets hot before that time, or if  I am taking them  to the forest very often,  I start as early as  May.
  • I wash and keep in a plastic box container my dog’s winter gear, including   booties, scarfs and any other fancy clothing for the Christmas parties. I also make sure to wash their leashes or clean them, depending on the material.  If it is too old  I just buy a new one. Safety is first!
  • Collars: My dogs get a new collar for spring season. As the days get warm it is important for me to have them wearing the right material since they will be spending more time outdoors. Mylo is a big fan of Big Paws Inc., a  must check!
  • Groom! Depending on the breed, check out  with your local groomer what  is required to keep fido happy  for spring and summer season.
  • Clean the pantry .  After the holiday season I find that  my pantry is full of treat bags  people give my dogs as presents.  I get rid of old treats and get healthy natural baked products and  dehydrated  chips . My dogs love them! Check them out at  Tail-Waggers Raw Menu.Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 11.59.20 AM
  • Set a new  exercise routine and prepare your dog for that!  Running, biking, hiking? You name it.  If your dog didn’t do much during winter, take one step at a time to avoid excessive  exercise and injuries. Work on building up your dog’s  resistance.  As the weather gets warm  you can even include a mini photo session to capture your pooch outdoors activities! We recommend Gotcha! Photo Studio,  we promise you you wont be disappointed.
  • Spring time is also a great time to re-start the outdoor training sessions you were afraid of  taking during winter.  Wonder Woofs in the York Region and Mighty Mutts in Toronto are two great trainers.

Tail-Waggers.ca | YOUR PET CARE STOP!


template LOGOREDTail-Waggers  Dog Walking & Pet Sitting provides professional pet care through daily dog walking and pet sitting services in Aurora, Richmond Hill and Newmarket area of pet owners.  Our passion is to care for your pet as we would for our very own to ensure your pet receives the daily exercise and mental stimulation he much needs to be in a balanced state of mind and live thus a long happy healthy life.  Now Serving Canadian Sourced  RAW FOOD FOR DOGS. Visit our website for more information.  

http://www.tail-waggers.ca | inbox@tail-waggers.ca | 647.205.9405 | Twitter   |  Facebook

Leave a Reply

