TO DOG OR NOT TO DOG?

The following is a guest post from Dana Goldstein of Digital Shoebox from the YRSBiz Blogging Circle.  The York Region Small Business Club helps small businesses in York Region connect online and in York Region.  Their goal is to provide free or low-cost opportunities for local businesses to connect and engage with each other and ultimately to help small businesses succeed.  Visit http://yrsbiz.ca to learn more.

********************

When we told our boys – ages 6 and 7 – that we were moving from Newmarket, ON to Calgary, AB, one of the things my husband promised them was a new pet.

We’ve been talking about getting a dog for years, but I have always said no for two reasons: 1) I didn’t think the boys were ready for the responsibility and 2) I didn’t think it was fair to have a dog go through so many moves (4 in 7 years).

So now we have moved once again, and my husband thought that promising the boys a pet would soften the blow.  Our 6-year-old is thrilled with the idea.  I have watched him interact with our neighbour’s dog – a gorgeous, mild-mannered Samoyed – and I saw him make a connection with the animal.  I have watched my son – who has ADD – burn energy playing with the dog or be soothed by simply petting it.

I am a dog lover, but even I am having second thoughts.  I recognize that once we have a pet, we will no longer be able to wake up Friday morning and decide to take off for the weekend.  Once again, I will have to potty train and readjust my schedule to avoid accidents in our home. We will be taking on more expenses in the form of vet bills and dog food.

On the other side of the equation, a dog is always loyal, always happy to see you, and always full of unconditional love.  Dogs can be frustrating, but they can bring so much joy and laughter to a home.  My father’s dog died more than 15 years ago, but we still love to tell the stories of his antics.

My husband had Yorkies growing up and he has vividly fond memories of the family dogs.  Whatever my reservations, I want ourchildren to have stories to sha

re about the fun they had with their pets.  I want them to remember the feeling of a cold nose on a warm cheek in the morning.  I want them to know the warmth of fur on cold feet.  More than anything, I want them to learn compassion for animals.   And that’s just what a dog would do.

The BLOGGER:

This Since 2005, Dana Goldstein from Digital Shoebox has been creating custom DVD slideshows for small business, weddings, big birthdays and other special events. Dana’s slideshows will bring a smile to your face and tears to your eyes all within the first 3 minutes of your video.  www.digitalshoebox.ca Twitter: @digishoebox   Facebook: www.facebook.com/digishoebox

2 thoughts on “TO DOG OR NOT TO DOG?

  1. Pingback: Omegas and Salads and Air Quality, Oh my! The June posts from the YRSBiz Blogging Circle - The York Region Small Business Club

  2. I heard Dana many times talk about how much her kids love dogs and I saw her trying to put together a project to raise money for a shelter. I am sure her family will be a great family for any dog they decide to bring home. Dana is right, a dog is a lot of work but it is worth every second spent on it!

Leave a Reply

